Peaches, glorious peaches!

I am addicted. I think I could live on peaches alone for the next few weeks. They are so perfectly ripe and juicy and delicious right now that I think they are the perfect food. I don’t tend to do anything to my peach aside from peeling away the fuzzy skin and slicing it and enjoying it piece by piece. However earlier this week I came across a recipe that I knew I just had to try…Brown Sugar Peach Cupcakes. I found them on here – I read this blog as often as possible and this is the first recipe that I actually attempted to make and boy was it worth it, they rocked. I mean they are by far the best cupcakes ever. I’ve never actually made a cupcake from scratch before until this one but I think I’d take it any day over one from Molly’s, Sweet Mandy B’s, Happy Cakes or any other bakery. It was really that good. To top off the deliciousness there is a brown sugar cream cheese frosting. Nothing gets better than this on a nice summer day with peaches fresh from the market! Here’s the recipe, as well as a link to the blog where I found it as well as pictures of the process. Hope you can get a chance to make them!

Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting (from Deb @ Smitten Kitchen)

Makes 24 to 28 cupcakes

3 cups cake flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
Pinch of nutmeg
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks or 6 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup dark or light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups (12 ounces) buttermilk, sour cream or full-fat yogurt
3 large peaches, peeled, cored, and chopped smallish (I went for a 1/3-inch dice)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line 28 muffin cups with paper liners.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg and set aside. Cream the butter and sugars together, beating until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides and bottom of the bowl between each addition, and then the vanilla. Gently mix in the buttermilk, sour cream or yogurt. Stir in the dry ingredients and fold in the peach chunks.

Divide the batter evenly among the prepared cupcake liners. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until a tester inserted into the center of cupcakes comes out clean. Cool the cupcakes for five minutes in the tin, then turn them out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 8-ounce packages of cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup (4 ounces or 8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a small bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, cornstarch and powdered sugar. In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Add the sugar-cornstarch mixture and vanilla, beat until frosting is smooth and light. Chill the bowl in the refrigerator until it thickens back up a bit, about 30 minutes, then spread or dollop on cooled cupcakes.

I had to adapt mine a little bit since we’re above sea level and I was really excited that they turned out perfectly since I’ve only baked cookies up here in the mountains! So next time you’re at the farmers market grab 3 medium to large ones and go home and try these out!

Until next time…cheers!

Leave a Reply

