Cornbread Salad from Smitten Kitchen

Ok so I’ve been mia for a while now and am feeling badly about it! I’ve been so busy with work and school just piling up that every time I think to sit down and give you all an update I find 25 other things I need to do. I thought I’d get a quick post up tonight since things are going to be hectic for the next week as well with school and Jewish holidays!

I found this recipe a while back on the smitten kitchen blog (which I’m currently obsessed with) and have been wanting to give it a try for a while. Well tonight was the night and I’m kicking myself for waiting until now to do so, especially since tomato season is coming to an end. It was well worth using heirlooms for the salad, the colors were awesome and I think they added a lot to the plate. It didn’t take long to make, I cheated and used a box mix for cornbread from Whole Foods but I think all in all it was delicious.

The recipe is adapted from here , I highly suggest visiting Deb’s site and seeing all the mouth-watering things she has to share. Her photography is beautiful and everything I’ve made from her site is delicious!

3 Heirloom Tomatoes, diced into large chunks

3 cups corn bread (cut into croutons)

2 cups lettuce (I used mixed baby greens, she suggests something more crisp and bitter)

1/4 cup thinly sliced sweet onion (slice paper thin if you can!)

Buttermilk-Lime dressing

3/4 cups buttermilk
5 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice (I juiced 1.5 limes)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 cup finely minced fresh basil
1/4 cup finely minced green onions
1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste

whisk all the ingredients together and serve with the salad, don’t dress the salad until ready to serve!

*this dressing was phenomenal, it was really liquidy and not thick like most dressings but I think it was absolutely perfect.

Toss the lettuce with the chunks of tomatoes and onions, add cornbread right before serving!

We enjoyed our dinner with some roasted chicken and green beans with plenty of leftover salad for tomorrow! Back to all the work I have to get through…until next time, cheers!

One response to “Cornbread Salad from Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Reply

