TGIF and Pot Roast!

What a busy week it’s been! School is back in session and I’m actually feeling more hopefully about finishing sometime in the near future (like next May!) This semester I get my first experience with a teaching internship which is essentially a part of my student teaching. I’m at an awesome school in Thornton, CO within the Mapleton District and after my first day there yesterday I do believe that this semester will be a good one. Pair that with some pretty decent classes and the fact that I know my education plan for the rest of my time in school I think it’s been a successful week! I’ll share more at another time about my experiences and school related stuff but I did want to mention it today! However the star of today’s show will be…(insert drum roll please)…pot roast! Oh you already knew that? Ok fine, but I’m really excited about this one! The recipe is adapted from The Silver Palatte 25th Anniversary edition written by Julee Rosso and Shelia Lukins. Already my apartment is smelling good and I just popped the pot into the oven a little while ago!

First up is the cast of the show!

Ingredients

Mirepoix

Next up you’ll want to heat your pot with the olive oil and then brown the meat on all sides…

Sizzling away

Then you’ll want to add in the liquids (wine and stock) along with the garlic…

Beef meets chicken stock

Beef and chicken stock meet the wine

Invasion of the garlic cloves

Next you’re going to want to add in the mirepox along with the tomatoes and potatoes so it’s one big happy family in the pot…

Tomatoes join the party

Now it's really a party, look at all those veggies!

Don't forget the potatoes! It's not a party unless they are there

That’s all folks! Now let all those ingredients simmer together on the stove top for a few minutes, put a lid on it and stick it in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Then remove the lid and let it cook for another 1 1/2 hours. Then serve it up with a nice crusty loaf of french bread and a salad!

Recipe

2 1/4 lbs. chuck roast

3 tablespoons good quality olive oil

2 cups chicken stock

2 cups red wine

1 teaspoon salt

7 whole garlic cloves

1 yellow onion roughly chopped

2 cups peeled carrot pieces

10-12 little potatoes (I had baby gold) cut into halves

2 cups canned Italian plum tomatoes with juice

1 cup diced celery

Preheat the oven to 350˚

Heat up your dutch oven or casserole pot with the 3 tablespoons of olive oil. Add the meat and sear on all sides until it’s browned nicely.

Pour in the stock along with the wine, garlic, salt and pepper.

Stir it together and let simmer for a minute or two.

Pour in mirepoix along with the tomatoes and potatoes (the liquid should be enough to cover the meat, if there’s not enough just add some more stock)

Bring the pot to a simmer and then cover it and transfer to the center baking sheet in your preheated oven. Cook for 2 1/2 hours.

Uncover the pot and cook until the meat is tender, about 1 1/2 more hours.

Makes 4 portions

Hope you have a wonderful weekend! Until next time…cheers!

Leave a Reply

