Valentines Day!

So I’m delayed here but I’m so busy that I’m not surprised! School is keeping me on my toes and my one day a week with 1st graders is so great but just adds to the work that I’ve got going on. We had a nice low-key day on Sunday and kept the celebrating to a minimum. After all we let each other know the I love you’s on a day-to-day basis and going out to dinner on Valentines Day is always a nightmare. PLUS we’re holding out for Denver 5280 Week (restaurant week!) and I for one can’t wait! However on Valentines Day we spent the day indoors, relaxing and enjoying the Olympics. I whipped up a frittata for brunch and it was delicious but I forgot to take pictures! However here’s the recipe if you want to replicate it for yourself (the beauty of this is you can throw almost anything in to the dish that you’ve got in your fridge or that sound good!) We threw some spinach, sausage and goat cheese into the cart at the store on Saturday so that’s what I made the frittata with and it was really good.

Sausage, Spinach and Goat Cheese Frittata

1 tbsp. butter

6 eggs

1 C. milk

1 bag spinach

1/4 C. goat cheese

2 sausage links

salt and pepper to taste

heat the oven to 350˚

saute spinach quickly, run under cool water and squeeze out all excess. chop into small pieces

crumble the goat cheese

cook the sausages and slice into discs or bite size pieces

crack eggs and whisk together

combine eggs with spinach, cheese and sausages and stir together

heat small oven proof skillet (I used a cast iron one!)

add the butter and let it melt, make sure the pan is nicely coated so the frittata won’t stick when it’s done!

pour in the egg mixture and slide into the oven for 30-45 minutes. check for doneness after 30 minutes. remove from oven when cooked and enjoy!

*serve with a simple green salad and a nice loaf of baguette for a great brunch!

next time I make one I’ll remember to take pictures

The rest of our day was spent lounging and boy was that great! It was cold and dreary outside and couching just seemed like the ideal thing to do. We had Whole Foods to thank for our dinner that night (well at least the ingredients!) The boy whipped together a bruschetta that would make Julia Child proud! He was inspired after watching Julie and Julia and it was delicious…the key was the toasting of the bread in a cast iron skillet on the stove. This summer he promises to recreate it many times with the delicious tomatoes from the farmers market (and that moment can NOT come soon enough!)

Next up came the artichokes, boiled with some lemons and then served with melted butter and a mayonnaise dipping sauce…I just love the artichoke hearts. I still wonder why I always gave them up when I was little. I clearly didn’t know what I was missing!

Next up in our feast were scallops wrapped in bacon with a very tasty apricot/horseradish secret sauce which is pictured with the chokes, it’s the sauce on the left and let me tell you, it is heavenly. It goes perfectly with those bacon wrapped scallop packages of love! We also enjoyed some nice heart-shaped crab cakes that were really good (thanks WF!)And finally my beautiful flowers that the boy gave me 🙂 Have a great weekend! Until next time…cheers!

Leave a Reply

