Day 5 of 31 Days of Pictures

Shepard’s Pie! SO good, so quick and easy and even better the second day. I chopped up some leftover brisket, whisked together a quick gravy and made mashed potatoes. 30 minutes tops until it hit the table and this will certainly be a go to left over meal for me, especially with the cold weather settling in! I don’t have a true recipe to share with you but here’s what I did (it was quick and really I threw together what I had.)

Chopped leftover brisket (probably about 12 slices)

A bag of yukon gold potatoes, boiled and mashed with a bit of left over water, an egg yolk, 2 tablespoons of sour cream and a drizzle of half and half. Oh and don’t forget salt, pepper and paprika (or any other spices that sound delicious.)

1 bag of frozen peas and carrots

Butter, beef broth, worcestershire sauce and flour to make a quick gravy

Toss the brisket into a glass pyrex baking dish, pour the gravy over it, toss in the frozen veggies and top with potatoes. Bake in oven at 350˚ for 10-12 minutes until potatoes have a nice crust on them and the dish is hot.

 

Now this is not a very pretty picture but I forgot to snap some pics while I was throwing this together and of course I didn’t get a shot while it was looking nice in the pan. This was thrown into a bowl and reheated and I think that it tasted even better than it did fresh out of the oven!

Leftover Shepard's Pie...YUM

Leave a Reply

