Delicious Chicken!

It’s freezing here in Denver! With a fire roaring in the fire place I’ve spent the afternoon holed up on the couch writing papers and reading. This last semester of school is by far the busiest I’ve been in a long time. Student teaching + 3 classes = one boat load of work to get done. With classes being cancelled this afternoon I was able to throw something together in the crockpot and let me tell you it was DELICIOUS!

I’ve discovered a new blog and while I’ve only made one recipe from here it is definitely going to get thrown into the meal rotation. I’d forgotten about my dear old friend the crockpot but I can assure you that it’s going to be making a debut at least once a week for now with the very busy schedules we have around here.

Definitely try out this recipe it rocked!

Apricot Chicken (adapted from HauteApplePie)
1 18 oz jar of apricot preserves
4 teaspoons dijon mustard
2 Tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 tsp black pepper
12 chicken thighs ( I used boneless, skinless)

Cut off excess fat from the chicken and place in slow cooker.  In a separate bowl, mix the apricot preserves, mustard, soy sauce and ground black pepper. Pour sauce over chicken.  Cover and cook on high for 4-6 hours. I cooked it on high for 3 hours and then another 1.5 hours on low and it was great.

Remove chicken from the crock pot and shred. Serve over couscous or rice and pair with a salad or some fresh broccoli.

One response to “Delicious Chicken!

  1. I’ve never heard of apricot chicken before but I have to say the picture of this dish looks so yummy it’s making me hungry lol. I may have to try this out.

Leave a Reply

