Book Challenge 2012

I love to read! I have loved books for as long as I can remember. One of my favorite memories from when I was little was going to the library during the summer to participate in the summer reading program. I wanted to read as many books as I possibly could get my hands on–and if memory serves me correctly I’m fairly certain I did a great job. One way I did this? I would save my allowance and head down to the corner store to stock up on candy (yes, that’s right…candy!) Then I would HIDE it all in my room (my bedside table, under my pillow, in my closet) and hole up in my room reading. How I didn’t attract insects and other critters is something I’d sure like to know! I’d spend hours reading (with or without the candy) and when my mom would catch me with candy it seemed she wasn’t all that upset since I was actually reading 🙂

My love of reading hasn’t gone anywhere but the time to read isn’t there like it was when I was 8, go figure. I just stumbled on this blog thanks to pinterest, which could explain why I don’t have time to read….hmmmmm. Anyway, Emilie mentions a book challenge for 2012 and I thought it would be fun to try out. I know I am not the best at sticking with challenges, ahem Project 52, but this seems like something I might just be able to do! I have a list of books I want to read and who knows, perhaps by the end of the year my list will be crossed off. Want to join up too? Check out her blog em-il-ie to get more info and then share your list of books! I already know my ‘S’ book–Stealing Magic by Marianne Malone. Yep, it’s geared towards kids but I’m ok with that. This book was written by one of my childhood best friends which makes it even more exciting for me to read AND it’s the 2nd book in a series. So if you have kids, or like the Art Institute in Chicago then go buy the first book (The Sixty Eight Rooms) and get to reading. It could even count as your ‘X’ book!

Leave a Reply

